Yeeeeaaahhh!!!

IMG_20160511_191613814
Post-Tabata sweaty face 

Had a training session tonight, tonight it was Tabata. I’ve not done any proper Tabata in forever, probably since before I got pregnant with the boy so over 2 yrs! (bloody hell where has that time gone!)

So for those of you who don’t know, Tabata is a Japanese High Intensity workout, created by Izumi Tabata. It is short, sharp and fast. You have

  • 8 exercises, you spend 20 seconds on each exercise
  • 10 seconds in between each exercise

So each set takes 4 mins. I then had a 1 min rest between each and did a total of 4 sets. Doesn’t sound much does it? 20 seconds per exercise, 8 exercises. But it is surprisingly a great workout. I love it. I was sweating heaps, literally it was dripping off me on to the bench we were using. (In the picture, if you look carefully you can see how soaked my hair was! )

What I love about Tabata though is, it is simple and effective. I have been known to do Tabata workouts while on holiday in Cyprus, the one and only time I’ve ever been on holiday and came back with no weight gain!

Tabata is great if you are stuck for time. Today my session was bodyweight Tabata (a great workout given the extra bodyweight I seem to have LOL) but Saturday we are looking at kettlebell Tabata too, which I am excited about!

Anyway I really enjoyed my session tonight, I defo feel like I am back on track with my training, it has been a long time coming but I feel more like I used to before I got pregnant. This post-natal fitness lark is defo harder than I thought it would be, but I am getting there.

H x

Leave a Reply

