The problem with spring & summer…

IMG_5510
My rather attractive post training face haha

The problem with spring & summer when you train outside in a public place is the lighter evenings bring out more people. That is more people to see you red faced, sweating, huffing & puffing, with the occasional “Jesus!” or “Bollocks!” thrown in.

Tonight my session was rammed full of dog walkers, passers by and even a couple of people flying model aircraft! And they were treated to the sight of me running (aka jogging) the shortest distance, with a very tiny incline, doing squats, reverse lunges and single leg deadlifts in between.

I’ll be honest, I’ve not trained much recently due to visiting home & undertaking my Baby & Preschool swimming teaching certificate (which I passed BTW, go me!) so tonight was hard, really hard. I was hot, sweaty, my head was literally pounding as I suspect my blood pressure when through the roof. A few people walked by, I don’t know what they thought and neither do I care.

Andmy one bit of advice if you are starting on your own journey, is don’t give a shit about what other people think. I could tell you that no one watches you but that’d be a lie, I used to watch other people in the gym so I am sure people watched me. I am sure I got a few glances tonight too but do you know what, so what? I might be fat, I might be sweating for England, I might be red in the face and feeling like I’m going to die but at least I’m trying and I’m not perfect and I have a long way to go but I’m making progress (slowly) and I’m getting out there. It doesn’t matter where you train, outdoors, in a gym, in a swimming pool, at your local community centre, people will be around, you can’t let that intimdate you!

So my advice is focus on you and screw other people (not in the biblical sense!)

H x

Leave a Reply

