The hardest thing…

… about all this health and fitness lark is not taking the easy option with every day tasks.

IMG_4846 (1)
Me on a very cold, rainy school run!

Flinging kettlebells about, doing push ups in the mud, squats in the middle of a monsson type rainstorm are a doddle in some respects. Because they are a specific task. I put my leggings or joggers on, I get my boots or trainers on and I’m there to do a very specific task.

But one of the things that I’ve been trying to incorporate in to part of my daily ritual is the dread ‘School Run’. When I say run, I mean walk fast, with a whinging toddler in a pushchair and a 5 year old who can get distracted by literally anything.

This daily routine is the one that has taken me the longest to form a habit with. I can come up with a fair few excuses not to do the school run
– too cold
– The boy is poorly, he shouldn’t be in the cold air
– I’m poorly
– It’s raining
– It’s too hot
– We’re running late
and everyone’s favourite
“I just can’t be arsed!”

So since January I have been really making an effort to walk the girl to school. It sounds like the simplest of tasks but when it’s cold and rainy it is one of the hardest things to do. The worst day is Wednesday, when the girl has choir, so I don’t need to collect her till after 4. It is reeeeeeeaaaaaaaaallllllllyyyyyyy tempting to take the car, especially on a day like today when it has been sleeting in South Yorkshire.

But I will do it, because flinging kettlebells, doing pressups in the mud are only part of the story. Making little changes make a big difference too.

H x

Leave a Reply

