A bit nervous to be honest…

So last week I had my postnatal check. (8weeks) I was cleared to do gentle exercise such as swimming and walking (good job considering I’ve been doing school run for over a month and had started swimming the week before!) But as predicted strength training is off the cards till at least 12 weeks postpartum.

So feeling like my fitness and eating is way out of control, I contacted Jason my PT to look towards starting again in December, I need to feel like I have a date to get back to it and that I’m not stuck in limbo.

Now throughout my pregnancy and after Alexander’s birth, EVERYONE has been telling me how I’ll get back in to it quickly, how I already know what I am doing so it won’t take long to get back in to the swing of it etc

So why is it after having swam 30 lengths of a 20 m pool yesterday am I now bricking it? Literally every length swum, every stroke, hurt. And today my body feels in tatters, my knees, my ankles, my hips, my shoulders, my neck, literally everything!

I don’t know if it’s the lack of sleep & stress of a newborn or what but suddenly getting back to it seems impossible and a long way off. If I can’t even manage a few lengths how on earth will I cope with anything more hardcore?

H x

Leave a Reply

