Sheftalia

One of my most favourite foods to eat is a Cypriot sausage called Sheftalia. I’ve been wanting to make these for a while and figured that they would be reasonably clean (Cypriots don’t muck about with their food!)

In Cyprus they are usually served in pitta with lots of fresh salad and herbs but we served them with vegetables and potatoes (baked in the oven as chips!) (You could use sweet potato if you were being totally clean but pregnancy hormones are telling me I need white potatoes -_-)

They were fairly straightforward to make although I avoided using caul fat for 2 reasons 1) I didn’t know what it was 2) When I found out what it was it made me feel really nauseous.  So we shaped in to sausages and fried them in a bit of olive oil.

Sheftalia
I would say they don’t taste too much like proper Sheftalia that you get in the old town in Paphos but they still tasted good 🙂

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1321634/sheftalia-sausage

H x

Leave a Reply

