Maybe, just maybe I am losing that mentality of a fat bird?

Tonight we had to drop down a little what I am working on. For the past few weeks I have been deadlifting and doing weighted squats. But I have had a little bout of pelvic pain and the time had come to change gear again, better to be safe than sorry and all that.

“Do you feel like you are working hard?” was the question I was asked by my personal trainer tonight.

My response shocked me a little, in fact I was surprised it even came out of my mouth. Me, partially reformed fat bird said:

“Well that is a strange question to answer. On the one hand I feel hot, sweaty and out of breath so I know I am doing something, but it feels frustrating because it isn’t pushing me anywhere near what I had built myself up to in the last year. It is frustrating me!”

This time last year I’d have done anything to get out of doing burpees or weighted squats. Now though I am actively missing them. I’d kill to get in the squat rack, I’d give both arms to do some kettlebell burpees (although that might be tricky with no arms!) I want to be challenged, I want to push myself beyond my self-imposed limits, I want to get out of my comfort zone. I feel agitated.

At the moment the feeling I have is the same as when you have been away on holiday for 2 weeks, had a bloody good time and you land back at Manchester Airport and back to reality. You know you will go away again but it feels a bloody long way off.

And I know for the time being this is how it is, being sensible, doing what my body will be allow me to, being safe etc But I am seriously thinking about that time post birth and how it will feel to get back up to where I was at Christmas and beyond.

I never, ever, thought I’d feel like that. I think I’ve got the fitness bug!

H x

 

Leave a Reply

