Pregnancy weight gain…

Ok. You know me, I’ve always been pretty honest about how I feel about food, fitness, health etc on here and now I am pregnant it is no different. I am going to say something a bit controversial.

I’m struggling with weight gain in this pregnancy.

http://www.pregnancyandbaby.com/
http://www.pregnancyandbaby.com/

There I’ve said it. I don’t mean I am struggling to gain weight, quite the opposite and that my friends is the problem. I am starting to resent the weight gain because I feel like I worked so hard from April till December and now it’s all unravelling.

I know this will instantly generate “you’re supposed to gain weight”, “you’re growing a baby, what did you expect?”, “it’s all baby/water/uterus”, “who cares, you are eating for two” etc type comments but this is so much more than that.

The rate I am gaining weight this is not just baby weight. This is more. I know why. I know I am not eating as well as I should/can. Yes I am still going to the gym but not as frequently or the same intensity as pre-pregnancy. I know both of these factors will influence my weight in addition to the pregnancy.

The Lancet study has looked at weight gain in pregnancy and the links to subsequent childhood obesity. 15 – 25 lbs in a pregnancy is considered “normal” if you were overweight pre-pregnancy (which I was!). I’ve gained around 24lbs already and I’m not even half way through and that scares me.

I know what the risks are of high weight gain in pregnancy both to me and the baby. I have in the back of my head what position I am like to be in after the birth and how hard it was for me lose 4 stone before. I know all that. Yet still I can’t stop eating crap. I can visually see that in addition to my baby bump, my arse, thighs, arms are all getting bigger. This is more than just pregnancy.

I looked in the mirror and my face is definitely fatter and that made me sad.

So the question is what on earth do I do now? I know that weight loss is not recommended during pregnancy. So I think the only thing I realistically can do is keep going to the gym and aquanatal and start eating much better. More fruit, veg, lean meat, fish, good fats, nuts, seeds etc See and thats what makes me mad, I know what I need to do but all I want to eat is crap and carbs. Not just a little bit of carbs, LOADS OF CARBS šŸ˜¦

Hx

Leave a Reply

