Happy Anniversary!

Ok I’m sorry but this is a massive self indulgent and reflective post. It’s also a massive thank you to my personal trainer, the very patient and fab Jason Horton http://www.jforcefitness.com/.

So I have been clearing out my study in preparation to turn it in to a room for the new baby and I stumbled across the record card from my first session with Jason my personal trainer. I looked at the date and realised it is a year ago tomorrow since I had that first session.

Life is very different now.

I now eat differently (most of the time). I eat fresh foods, I rely less on processed food, I rely less on junk food and convenience foods. I eat things I never used to (mushrooms, fish, avocados!)

I exercise and not just half arsed exercise. I do proper exercise, I do burpees**, I lift weights, I do squats and lunges. **NB I did till I got pregnant, it has toned down a lot but I’ll be back on it once I’ve had the baby, promise! I get hot & sweaty and I bloody love it!

I see it as a lifestyle change, not a solution to a problem, I don’t envisage stopping once I hit my goals.

My goals have changed, no longer just weight loss and getting pregnant. I want to be fit, healthy, I want to tone my muscles up! Long term.

It has been a long journey. It certainly isn’t over and it wont ever be over, I want to continue and keep going. There has been laughter, tears, dizziness, nausea, sweat but touchwood no blood (although I have decked it a few times but usually through my own stupidity!)

I didn’t think it would ever be possible for me, overweight, unconfident, shy Helen to feel like I do about health & fitness or to feel proud of myself.

I am lucky to have a very understanding husband, who gets why I spend a fortune each month.

I am lucky to have the best personal trainer. Knowledgable and talented at what he does. Firm with me but understands my fears and able to identify what makes me tick and how to ensure that he isn’t just telling me what to do he is teaching me what to do and why. I can’t thank him enough.

And before I become a total blubbering wreck I thought I’d share with you some of my favourite pics from the last year that outline the journey so far.

Bring on the next year!

H x

Screen Shot 2014-03-17 at 22.27.01

Screen Shot 2014-03-17 at 22.27.12

Screen Shot 2014-03-17 at 22.27.24

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

