Apple & Walnut Oatmeal

Breakfast is something I always struggle with. Before I started trying to change my eating habits I rarely had breakfast and if I did it would have been white toast heaped with a vegetable based spread (light of course because that instantly meant I was being healthy right!?) or a chocolate bar or a sausage and egg based breakfast from a famous fast food chain!  I was certainly never a fan of cereal or porridge. So the idea of dropping sugary breakfast cereals has never been a problem for me.

So I am always on the look out for new breakfasts. Especially hot ones, I seem to like hot/warm breakfasts better than cold ones.
So this week Jason sent a recipe for Apple and Walnut oatmeal. Normally I’d dismiss this sort of food but I thought I’d give it a go. Last night I want to the supermarket to buy oatmeal. This was unchartered territory for me, what is the diff between oatmeal and rolled oats anyway??

Anyway my review of this breakfast would be, not my most favourite BUT could be a grower. It wasn’t offensive and didn’t make me gip, given my current pregnancy related food issues that is a winner in my eyes. I think I need to experiment with the fruit I put in, the amount of cinnamon and honey too, it still tastes quite bland atm. But definitely I will give this another go.

I had to make my with chopped hazelnuts because I thought I had walnuts in stock and didn’t!

oatmeal

Recipe

3/4 cup of oatmeal
1 1/4 cup of skimmed milk
1 chopped apple
1/4 cup walnuts
Sprinkle of cinnamon
Honey (optional) – If you like your breakfasts sweet I would defo add some honey!

Instructions

  1. Heat the milk in a pan
  2. Add all the ingredients
  3. Wait for for mixture to get to the thickness you like, I like my mine mega thick

Adaptations

  1. You could try different fruit, I could see this working with banana, peaches etc
  2. You could try different nuts, I tried hazelnuts, but I think almonds might work too
Leave a Reply

