How do people let it get that bad???

We’ve all done it. Watched ‘Biggest Loser’ or something similar and thought, “Christ on a bike, how did they let themselves get in that state?” or “Why didn’t their friends or family stop them from eating all that crap?” or “Why didn’t their doctor do something?”

I’ve just been sorting through some images on Facebook and found this little beauty. It was taken April 2011, just before Imogen’s 1st birthday. Now as I have mentioned here before, I was obese before I got pregnant, then this happened:

Look at the size of my arms

Truth is, I don’t know how I let myself get like this. Read that sentence carefully. Obviously I know technically what happened, too much crap food, zero exercise. But I don’t know how or why I let it happen?

All I know is it happens stealthily, quickly and you don’t even realise. Every day you eat something that isn’t good for you, every day you vow tomorrow to start a fresh and get off your backside. A day turns in to a week, a week turns in to a month and a month turns in to a year. I would say it is fairly easy to gain 1 – 2 stone a year without even noticing. You don’t notice in the mirror. You notice when your clothes don’t fit properly but you ignore that and just buy the next size, blaming shops for their inaccurate sizing. You kid yourself it is the world not you. Your family, friends etc voice their concerns but you push them to the back of your mind.

And before you know it you have gained 6 stone over 9 years, you are older, fatter, unhealthier and scared of inevitability. You know you need to tackle it but you just don’t even know where to begin! Because just as the weight slowly creeps on, it slowly creeps off and that can be the HARDEST thing to take. The fact you are desperately trying to change, trying to exercise, trying to eat healthily and yet it isn’t showing as quickly as you’d like.

But you have to keep the faith, trust that with exercise and good nutrition you are on the right path and one day just as you woke up and thought “oh my god look at the size of me!” that one day you will wake up and think “yep, I am definitely fitter/healthier/more toned/happier”.

4-8-12-weeks2

Keep going!

I’ve had a rough 2 weeks food wise, for reasons I won’t bore you with now, maybe another day. I need to get back on the path though. 2 weeks of eating rubbish and I am feeling rubbish. I can’t go back!

H x

2 thoughts on “How do people let it get that bad???

  1. I’ve totally done that – both on the judging side and realizing I *was* that big. It’s hard to be patient and the slow changes are so hard to track. It’s hard to feel good about the progress you’ve made when you are focused on how far you have to go. Take the time to pat yourself on the back for all the good changes you’ve made! It’s easier to tell someone that than to do it yourself 😉 Keep up the good work!

    1. Sure is hard! I’ve defo done both too! Sometimes I have to give myself a slap and remind myself how hard it is to even start 🙂 Must admit though I always feel dead chuffed for the larger people who are in the gym, because it is not easy to make that first step. H x

Leave a Reply

