Exercise is my therapy

Frustration, anger, sadness and stress are a big part of my mental state at the moment.

One thing I am grateful for is having found exercise as a way of releasing those feelings. If I hadn’t I’m not sure how I would deal with the emotions I’m feeling at the moment. I didn’t have an outlet for them. But I do now.

When I’m feeling angry, frustrated, stressed, low etc I try to take it out on the gym.

For some reason I find push-ups are particularly effective. I think it’s like a form of sticking two fingers up to whatever is bugging me.

The other one is kettlebell swing. I like to visualise that the kettlebell is smacking whoever has upset me straight in the face, repeatedly.

9 times out of 10 the gym will make me feel better. Very occasionally I feel good whilst there then my mood drops like a stone straight after when I have to face reality again. But most of the time it really does work at helping me manage my feelings.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not perfect and very occasionally I will reach for crap food, chocolate, chips etc. (sorry Jason!) but it’s never the answer as I am usually then adding a layer of guilt to how crap I already feel.

So really recommend if you feel down, get doing some exercise!

20140110-105126.jpg

Leave a Reply

