Going back to the gym after Christmas…

Going back to the  gym after Christmas is a bit like going back to school after the holidays. I know I will be fine once I get there but I still have an overwhelming sense of anxiety.

I’ve had nearly 2 weeks of eating what I want, not doing much exercise etc it was like a glimpse back to the old me and I didn’t like it, I didn’t like it one bit (ok I liked the roast potatoes but the rest I can live without.)

I’m ready to get back to it now but I am scared. I didn’t expect to feel “scared”. I love this exercising malarky, I love my sessions with Jason (even if they do push me well out of my comfort zone and make me feel half dead!) and I love the healthy eating. So why do I feel nervous and anxious? Maybe it is a sense of that I did so well April – September. Mid September – December wasn’t great, I made steps forward but the weight loss slowed down, a lot I didn’t make as much progress as I wanted, maybe I’m worried I’ll go backwards now.

Realistically, I don’t think I will ever go back. I’ve invested too much blood, sweat and tears to go back (ok not blood, but sweat and tears definitely!) I don’t want to go back. Even I can see my weight and health this time last year was a ticking time bomb. But I won’t lie, it is hard, really hard but I want to stick with it now but I’ve a feeling the next few months could be a bumpy ride for one reason or another.

But in the words of Iggy Azalea (I use such poetic lyrical references me!)

“Once you go great, you never go good
You never go back, even if you could
I’ll show you my way, I got that good-good
You never go back, even if you could

Have you ever wished your life would change?
Woke up and you lived your dreams
Baby I could help you make that change
I could show you how to do this thing”

H x

Leave a Reply

