Well this is novel!

Normally one of the big highlights of Christmas for me is food.

Top of that list is roast potatoes closely followed by pigs in blankets, stuffing, turkey, veg (including roast parsnips, sprouts etc), gravy etc. Then chocolate, cakes, sausage rolls (my mum makes the best sausage rolls EVER!) and so on.

Mum's Sausage Rolls
Mum’s Sausage Rolls

Don’t get me wrong the food has been brilliant this year and I have really enjoyed eating it and I have to admit Roast potatoes are something I had been fantasising about since November! But something has changed.

Normally by now I could quite happily carry on eating Christmas food FOREVER! But this year I am dying to get back to eating clean. Obviously weight is a huge factor, I am 99.9999999% sure I have put on a few pound, but I can deal with that. But generally I feel sluggish, tired, unmotivated and just generally a bit crappy!

I am missing lentils, fresh fruit, nuts, seeds, heck I am even missing fish! (now that is weird!)

Normally as part of New Year resolutions I would promise myself to shift weight. But normally I would start the first Monday back at school. This year though I feel like hitting the ground running. I don’t want to wait until the 6th January.  We don’t tend to do much for new year in my house so I am thinking we’ll probably drop straight back in to eating clean as soon as we get back. The only decision now is what to have first? I’m thinking steak and quinoa or chicken and lentil curry? Hmmmmm decisions, decisions!

 

H x

Leave a Reply

